New Orleans Auto Insurance Laws
If you drive in New Orleans, then you're probably already well aware that auto insurance is mandatory in Louisiana. New Orleans auto insurance rules require all drivers to have at least the minimum levels of coverage as detailed below. In addition, drivers must be able to show proof of coverage if asked to do so by the police or if there is an accident.
Minimum New Orleans auto insurance requirements
In order for drivers to be legal, New Orleans auto insurance plans must include at least the following coverage, which includes:
- Bodily Injury and Death: $25,000 to cover one person in any one accident, and $50,000 to cover all injuries
- Property Damages: $10,000
- Personal Injury Protection: $10,000
New Orleans auto insurance law does not require drivers to have other forms of coverage, such as collision or uninsured motorist coverage. However, many drivers chose to purchase this added protection as Louisiana uses the tort system. Under this system, the driver found at-fault for the accident must pay for all of the damages and any medical expenses for both himself and the other driver or drivers. This can become very expensive – even in small crashes. If your New Orleans auto insurance plan does not have a high enough limit to meet all of these costs, then you may have to pay out of your own pocket.
Get free New Orleans auto insurance quotes
One of the easiest ways to obtain cheap New Orleans auto insurance is to use our online form. Simply submit a free, no obligation request right here and a representative will share information with you on the best New Orleans auto insurance plans available.